Disclosure: This post is sponsored by Gluten-Free Cheerios™. As always, all thoughts and opinions are my own. Thank you for supporting the brands that support me!
Is there anything more exciting than when one of your favorite brands comes out with a gluten free version of a product you love?
When I was growing up, we always had Cheerios™ at the breakfast table. (Specifically Honey Nut Cheerios™ – those were our favorite). A box of Cheerios was a quick breakfast or snack that everyone in my family loved.
Once I had my first son, and he was intolerant to wheat, Cheerios weren’t an option for us. All those cute little Cheerio baby board books that friends had given us sat on the shelf, because we couldn’t give him Cheerios to eat or play with.
I know that when you have food intolerances it can be very hard to feel included. If you are intolerant to dairy, it’s tough when it’s summer and everyone is eating ice cream cones. If you are intolerant or allergic to nuts, Halloween is very difficult, because so many candies include nuts. And if you are intolerant to wheat, finding a breakfast cereal that is safe for you can be very frustrating.
Inclusion is at the heart of Gluten-Free Cheerios. Gluten-Free Cheerios were born out of a desire to have everyone be able to enjoy Cheerios. Phil Zietlow, an engineer at General Mills for more than 50 years set off on a mission to make Cheerios gluten-free when he found out his daughter-in-law had Celiac disease.
About 1% of the population has Celiac disease, but about 30% of the population is avoiding gluten. General Mills is able to make Cheerios gluten-free by changing the ingredient sorting process. The ingredients are the same (except for Multi-Grain Cheerios, which now contain sorghum and millet, not wheat and barley).
So how do they make sure Cheerios are gluten-free?
Wheat, barley, and rye are a different shape than oats. All of the oats are put into a special sifter to make sure that the gluten containing grains are sifted out while the oats stay behind. Then each batch of oats is tested to make sure that it is less than 20 parts per million of other grains. With this new sifting system, each box of Gluten-Free Cheerios meets and exceeds the FDA’s gluten-free threshold of having less than 20 parts per million of gluten. Then the oats are made into flour, and then checked again to make sure that the flour is still gluten-free.
Once the flour is made, it heads to the plant in dedicated gluten-free trucks and rail cars. Changes have also been made at the plants, including new cleaning procedures to make sure that there is no cross contamination from gluten containing cereals. Once the Cheerios are made, they are checked yet again to make sure they are still gluten-free.
Gluten-Free Cheerios are starting to appear in stores now, and should be available in most stores in September. They come in five varieties: Yellow Box Cheerios, Honey Nut Cheerios, Multi-Grain Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios, and Apple Cinnamon Cheerios. Be sure to look for the Gluten-Free seal on the box. The icing on the cake? The price will stay the same!
I love that my children can safely enjoy Gluten-Free Cheerios. It’s so fun to be able to share this beloved breakfast cereal with them now. They had such fun trying these out, and their favorite variety is Apple Cinnamon – just in time for fall!
Have you tried Gluten-Free Cheerios yet? Are you excited about this new version of Cheerios?
Disclosure: This is a sponsored post written by me on behalf of Gluten-Free Cheerios.