Everyone loves candy, but it can be hard to know what candies to choose if you’re shopping for someone with food allergies. Find out which candies are free of the most common allergens – peanuts, tree nuts, dairy, egg, wheat, soy, sesame, and more! There’s something for everyone to enjoy on this list.
There are so many occasions that revolve around food, and specifically desserts and candy in our society. Halloween, Easter, Christmas, Valentine’s Day, school celebrations, birthdays…if you’re celebrating, there’s probably some candy involved.
And that can be very frustrating if you’re living with food allergies! It’s not fun to be left out. And with so many allergens in many types of candy, it’s easy to feel like you just have to avoid candy altogether.
Thankfully, there are many brands that cater to those with food allergies by manufacturing their products in facilities that are free of the top allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, dairy, egg, soy, fish, shellfish, sesame). Some of these brands are easy to find (Enjoy Life, Yum Earth), but some are harder to find in stores.
There are also some brands that are mainstream, easy to find at a typical store, and still free of the top allergens! These are the kind of treats that your child’s teachers and grandparents would be able to find when they’re out shopping for groceries.
Let’s talk about all the sweet options that are out there for you to enjoy!
Please call the company or visit their website to find out for sure if the items below are safe for your family. Ingredients and procedures change, so it’s always best to double check before you consume any new products.
Another note: This list is for the products as packaged by the manufacturer. Sometimes candy is repackaged with other candies (for example, a Halloween bulk bag), and there may be cross contamination or other issues. Always read the label.
Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links.
🍬 Hard Candies
- Smarties – I am referring to the sugar Smarties that are available in the United States, not the Smarties in Canada or the UK, which are made of chocolate, and do contain some allergens.
- Smarties Candy Necklaces – All Smarties products are free from the top 9 allergens, please read their Allergen Statement for more details.
- Jolly Ranchers (These contain soy lecithin, but many people with soy allergies can safely consume soy lecithin. Read more about soy lecithin and allergies here).
- Life Savers – This brand was recently acquired by Mars, which may make some families pause. However, they are still saying they will label with a “May Contain” warning if an allergen is in the facility. Please call and ask questions to find out if you are comfortable with this brand.
- Torie and Howard Hard Candy
- Dum-Dums – (may contain trace amounts of soy oil, which can be safe for those with soy allergies. Read Spangler’s statement here)
- Yum Earth Lollipops – No artificial food dye in these. We like to use these to make stained glass window cookies.
- Jolly Rancher Lollipops – (contains soy lecithin)
- Ring Pops
- Life Savers Swirl Lollipops
🍫 Chocolate Candy
- Enjoy Life Chocolate
- PASCHA Chocolate
- No Whey Chocolate – This company makes chocolate bars, cups, and choco no no’s (like m&ms) that are free of the top 9 allergens. The choco no no’s are perfect for making monster cookies.
- Amanda’s Own Confections – This is a company based in Ohio that makes all kinds of chocolate treats for holidays and other occasions. The chocolate is free of the top 14 allergens.
- Free 2 B Sunbutter Cups
- Free 2 B Mint Cups
- Yum Earth Choco Yums
Learn to make SAFE, tasty food for your family. Join my community today and start getting all my best tips, tricks, and allergy friendly recipes in your inbox.